Simon says "I do"

The male perspective on weddings.

For those about to rock…you have no place here.

So while my bride to be is away, I have spent hours compiling songs to play in the background of our wedding. It’s a tough job deciding what is too loud and what isn’t.

It really doesn’t help that thanks to a friendly power surge, our external hard drive with all of our music on it has been fried. So it’s back to old-fashioned ripping songs from CDs. I almost feel like it’s reverting to recording songs from the radio! But hey, what else do I have to do? This is the one job that she put me in charge of, so I’d better do it well!

It should be a blast and hopefully due to my eclectic taste in music, there should be something for everyone. From the Beatles to Bon Iver. Sam Cooke to Smashing Pumpkins. The fun comparisons are endless.

I have chosen to avoid being too picky about song lyrics in this task. In the end, the songs are in the background, and all of my favourite songs have horribly depressing lyrics.

Is it wrong to have a song at your wedding about a man who is shooting himself because he can’t afford to get his pregnant daughter hospital care? I don’t think so, as long as it’s not the processional song!

Man with gun to his head.

Here comes the bride.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other subscribers